MILITARIA CAMBODIA, 1952 - 1954 362 photographs... - Lot 271 - Pichon & Noudel-Deniau (Azur Enchères)

Lot 271
Got to lot
Estimation :
600 - 800 EUR
Result without fees
Result : 600EUR
MILITARIA CAMBODIA, 1952 - 1954 362 photographs... - Lot 271 - Pichon & Noudel-Deniau (Azur Enchères)
MILITARIA
CAMBODIA, 1952 - 1954

362 photographs taken and/or collected in two albums by Squadron Leader LE GURUN, Chief of Staff of the Eastern Sector of Kg-Cham. Attached is a diploma of Knight of the Royal Order of Cambodia dated April 20, 1953, issued in his name under No. 89, for the services he rendered to the Kingdom of Cambodia.

One album presents 112 views of the temples and sculptures of ANGKOR-VAT as well as local types, Buddhist festivals and ceremonies and village scenes. The other album, of 250 views, presents many monuments of PHNOM PENH, including the Royal Palace, the Silver Pagoda, the Phnom Pagoda, the hotel of the Commissioner of the Republic where General DIO (commander of the ground forces from 1950 to 1952) sat under King Norodom SIHANOUK (1922 - 2012). Aerial views of the residential area and towards the Tonle Sap lake. Harvest festival, Chinese festival, Sacred Furrow festival and equestrian games. Celebrations of the turning of the waters with the representatives of the Commissariat of the Republic, view of the ship Le Savorgnan-de-Brazza decorated for the occasion. Reception of the Minister of the Associated States Letourneau. Views of self-defense villages, views of "recovery" operations in the Viet zone. Ethnic types in the Upper Chong region and Mois country... A hand-drawn map shows the places mentioned. Some pictures are grouped under the title "the poetry of the Mekong river banks". Other scenes of daily life; "Sidewalk dentist", "Open-air restaurants", "Pirogue back from the race", are grouped under the theme "The gesture, the balance, to live..." Hawk fishing, corn harvesting road to Saigon, Cambodian women. Views of the Damber region long under Viet Minh influence recovered under Royal authority. Celebrations of the Royal Khmer Armed Forces who took their independence in Kompong Tcham in October/November 1953: photographers in action during the military parade, parade of Khmer women... At the end of the album, Squadron Leader Le GURUN, writes that after the departure of the French Army from Cambodia, he leaves for North Vietnam and Dien Bien Phu where he will be taken prisoner during the Indochina War (November 1953 - May 1954). An identity portrait shows him smiling with the caption "Saigon September 1954 after Viet Minh captivity, Free". This unique collection of photographs and documents sheds a unique and sensitive light on Khmer traditions, culture and the French presence in Indochina.
Personalities quoted in the comments: General Dio and his deputy Gaillard, Chapalain, Letourneau, Gorce, Colonel Potin, Mr. Rislurecci, Colonel de Champvallier, General Langlade, Commander Rousset, General Cogny, Colonel Poix...

The gelatin-silver prints, ranging in size from 9 x 6.5 cm to 12 x 9 cm, with serrated margins, are presented in two albums (some photographs are in the medium format 18 x 22.5 cm). The albums are beautifully crafted and come in sizes of 29.5 x 44 cm and 29.5 x 42.5 cm. The bindings are held together by cords. The first plates in varnished wood have decorative nets and military insignia in metal and enamel including: 6th RIC, 1eBMOII, 2RMC, RMC1 (first battalion mixed regiment Cambodia) and insignia of the 3rd BBC, 3rd battalion of Cambodian fighters (creation of the insignia by Drago, Olivier Métra). Format of the diploma: 44 x 50 cm.
Conditions: the pages receiving the photographs are protected by transparent serpents of unequal quality. Some traces of rubbing and scratches are visible on the covers of the albums.

Expert : Yves DI MARIA
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

MILITARIA CAMBODGE, 1952 - 1954 362 photographies...

Lot 271
Aller au lot
Estimation :
600 - 800 EUR
Résultats sans frais
Résultat : 600EUR

MILITARIA CAMBODGE, 1952 - 1954 362 photographies...

MILITARIA
CAMBODGE, 1952 - 1954

362 photographies réalisées et/ou réunies en deux albums par le chef d’escadron LE GURUN chef de l’état-major du secteur Est de Kg-Cham. Il est joint un diplôme de Chevalier de l’Ordre Royal du Cambodge daté du 20 avril 1953, délivré à son nom sous le n° 89, pour les service qu’il a rendu au Royaume du Cambodge.

Un album présente 112 vues des temples et sculptures d’ANGKOR-VAT ainsi que des types locaux, fêtes et cérémonies bouddhistes et scènes villageoises. L’autre album, de 250 vues, présente de nombreux monuments de PHNOM PENH, dont le Palais Royal, la Pagode d’Argent, la pagode du Phnom, l’hôtel du Commissaire de la République ou siégeait le général DIO (commandant des forces terrestres de 1950 à 1952) auprès du Roi Norodom SIHANOUK (1922 – 2012). Vues aériennes du quartier résidentiel et vers le lac Tonlé-Sap. Fête de la moisson, fête des « chinois », fête du Sillon Sacré et jeux équestres. Fêtes du retournement des eaux avec les représentants du Commissariat de la République, vue du navire Le Savorgnan-de-Brazza pavoisé pour l’occasion. Réception du ministre des états associés Letourneau. Vues de villages d’auto défense, vues des opérations de « récupération » sur la zone Viet. Types ethniques région du Haut Chong et pays Mois… Une carte, dessinée à la main, précise les lieux cités. Quelques images sont regroupées sous le titre « la poésie des rives du Mékong ». D’autres scènes de la vie quotidienne ; « Dentiste de trottoir », « Restaurants en plein air », « Pirogue retour de course », sont regroupées sous le thème « Le geste, l’équilibre, pour vivre… » Pêche à l’épervier, récolte du maïs route vers Saigon, femmes cambodgiennes. Vues de la région de Damber longtemps sous influence Viêt Minh récupérée sous l’autorité Royale. Célébrations des forces armées Royales Khmères qui prennent leur indépendance à Kompong Tcham en octobre/novembre 1953 : les photographes en action pendant le défilé militaire, défilé de femmes khmères…En fin d’album Le chef d’escadron Le GURUN, écrit qu’après le départ de l’Armée française du Cambodge il part pour le Nord Vietnam et Dien Bien Phu où il sera fait prisonnier pendant la guerre d’Indochine (novembre 1953 – mai 1954). Un portrait d’identité le représente souriant avec la légende « Saigon septembre 1954 après la captivité Viet Minh, Libre ». Cet ensemble unique de photographies et documents donne un éclairage singulier et sensible sur les traditions, la culture Khmère et la présence française en Indochine.
Personnalités citées dans les commentaires : le général Dio et son adjoint Gaillard, Chapalain, Letourneau, Gorce, colonel Potin, Mr. Rislurecci, colonel de Champvallier, général Langlade, Commandant Rousset, Général Cogny, Colonel Poix…

Les tirages gélatino-argentiques de formats 9 x 6,5 cm à 12 x 9 cm, avec marges dentelées, sont présentés en deux albums (quelques photographies sont au format moyen 18 x 22,5 cm). Les albums, de belle facture, sont aux formats 29,5 x 44 cm et 29,5 x 42,5 cm. Les reliures sont maintenues par des cordelettes. Les premiers plats en bois verni comportent des filets décoratifs ainsi que des insignes militaires en métal et émail dont : 6e RIC, 1eBMOII, 2RMC, RMC1 (premier bataillon régiment mixte Cambodge) et insigne du 3e BBC, 3e bataillon de chasseurs cambodgiens (création de l’insigne par Drago, Olivier Métra). Format du diplôme : 44 x 50 cm.
Conditions : les pages recevant les photographies sont protégées par des serpentes transparentes d’inégales qualités. Quelques traces de frottements et de rayures sont visibles sur les plats des albums.

Expert : Yves DI MARIA
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue