EARLY 19TH CENTURY SCHOOL - VAN GORP'S ENTOURAGE...

Lot 195
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1500 EUR

EARLY 19TH CENTURY SCHOOL - VAN GORP'S ENTOURAGE...

EARLY 19TH CENTURY SCHOOL - VAN GORP'S ENTOURAGE
Bust portrait of Benjamin Gault , Baron de Benneval ( 1772 - 1813 ) in the uniform of a brigadier general
OIL ON CANVAS.
34,5 x 29,5 cm
Identified in ink on the back of the frame
Period frame in wood and gilded stucco decorated with shells and palmettes
( Small accidents and missing )
About 1808-1813

Benjamin Gault , baron de Benneval (1772-1813)
He entered the service on September 25, 1791, as a second lieutenant in the 75th infantry regiment, he became a lieutenant on March 16, 1792. He served in the Alps army during the campaigns of 1792 and in the Rhine army in 1793. On 11 September 1793, he was replaced as absent by order of the people's representatives.
On 31 March 1794, he was appointed deputy adjutant-general, and on 30 June 1794, he was reinstated and incorporated into the 13th half-brigade of infantry, and was appointed captain on 19 June 1795. He served successively in the Côtes de Brest and Sambre-et-Meuse armies, before joining the Alps and Italian armies. By order of 25 March 1799, he was transferred to the cavalry, and on 15 April 1799 he was posted as captain to the 10th regiment of dragoons.
On 20 June 1804, he became aide-de-camp to Marshal Bernadotte. He was created a baron of the Empire on 20 July 1808, with an endowment of 4,000 francs, made an officer of the Legion of Honour on 22 November 1808, and a commander of the same order on 23 June 1810.
He was promoted to brigadier general on 6 August 1811. In 1812, he took part in the Russian campaign, and on 22 July 1812, he commanded the 3rd brigade of General Heudelet's 30th division. In 1813, during the German campaign, he found himself locked up in Danzig, and on the 6th April 1813, he succumbed to the fatigue of this war.

Provenance : Family of the Admirals GRASSET and CEILLIER

Expert | Cabinet Dey
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Retourner au catalogue

ÉCOLE DU DEBUT DU XIXEME SIECLE - ENTOURAGE...

Lot 195
Aller au lot
Estimation :
1000 - 1500 EUR

ÉCOLE DU DEBUT DU XIXEME SIECLE - ENTOURAGE...

ÉCOLE DU DEBUT DU XIXEME SIECLE - ENTOURAGE DE VAN GORP
Portrait en buste de Benjamin Gault , Baron de Benneval ( 1772 - 1813 ) en uniforme de général de brigade
HUILE SUR TOILE.
34,5 x 29,5 cm
Identifié à l'encre au dos du châssis
Cadre de l'Epoque en bois et stuc doré à décor de coquilles et palmettes
( Petits accidents et manques )
Vers 1808-1813

Benjamin Gault , baron de Benneval (1772-1813)
Il entre en service le 25 septembre 1791, comme sous-lieutenant au 75e régiment d'infanterie, il passe lieutenant le 16 mars 1792. Il fait les campagnes de 1792 à l'armée des Alpes, et celles de 1793 à l'armée du Rhin. Le 11 septembre 1793, il est remplacé comme absent par ordre des représentants du peuple.
Le 31 mars 1794, il est adjoint aux adjudants-généraux, et le 30 juin 1794, il est réintégré et incorporé à la 13e demi-brigade d'infanterie, et il est nommé capitaine le 19 juin 1795. Il sert successivement à l'armée des Côtes de Brest, de Sambre-et-Meuse, avant de rejoindre l'armée des Alpes et d'Italie. Par arrêté du 25 mars 1799, il passe dans l'arme de la cavalerie, et le 15 avril 1799, il est affecté comme capitaine au 10e régiment de dragons.
Le 20 juin 1804, il prend les fonctions d'aide de camp du maréchal Bernadotte. Il est créé baron de l'Empire le 20 juillet 1808, avec une dotation de 4 000 francs, il est fait officier de la Légion d'honneur le 22 novembre 1808, et commandeur du même ordre le 23 juin 1810.
Il est promu général de brigade le 6 août 1811. En 1812, il fait la campagne de Russie, et le 22 juillet 1812, il commande la 3e brigade de la 30e division du général Heudelet. En 1813, lors de la campagne d'Allemagne, il se retrouve enfermé dans Dantzig, et le 6 avril 1813, il y succombe aux fatigues éprouvées par cette guerre.

Provenance : Famille des amiraux GRASSET et CEILLIER

Expert | Cabinet Dey
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de ventes
Retourner au catalogue